Team Hipkiss

October 27, 2011

We have often said that we are a ‘creative partnership’, and that Alpha works alongside me in our studio as a writer, but what exactly is her creative role in my art?

She is more of a Producer than anything else.

She has always encouraged me to make art; she was the first person to call me an artist, before I thought of myself as one. By fate, when we found ourselves spending most of our time together working in the same space, she influenced me into a new direction and kick-started my career.

Very soon after, her practical advice, as someone with formal training in art and photography, consolidated and helped to shape my style. In ‘planting’ ideas in my head for new formats, media and composition, she has a constant and subtle effect on my output.

More recently, with us both reinventing ideas for ambitious exhibition projects, her role as Producer has new visibility.

Chris Hipkiss

Alpha Mason and Chris Hipkiss in front of ‘London in Europe III’, Oct 2011
Alpha Mason and Chris Hipkiss, in front of 'London in Europe III', Oct 2011

Chris Hipkiss and Alpha Mason (and Persifleur the cat) at work on ‘Big Black Lie’, October 2011
Chris Hipkiss and Alpha Mason (and Persifleur the cat) at work on 'Big Black Lie', October 2011

Leave a Reply

